Macedonia (Listeni/ˌmæsˈdniə/ mas-i-doh-nee-əMacedonianМакедонијаtr. MakedonijaIPA: [makɛˈdɔnija]), officially the Republic of Macedonia (Macedonian: About this sound Република Македонија , tr. Republika Makedonija), is a country in the Balkan peninsula in Southeast Europe. It is one of the successor states of the former Yugoslavia, from which it declared independence in 1991. It became a member of the United Nations in 1993, but, as a result of an ongoing dispute with Greece over the use of the name Macedonia, was admitted under the provisional description the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia[10][11](sometimes unofficially abbreviated as FYROM), a term that is also used by international organizations such as the European Union,[12] the Council of Europe[13] and NATO.[14]

landlocked country, the Republic of Macedonia is bordered by Kosovo[a] to the northwest, Serbia to the north, Bulgaria to the east, Greece to the south, and Albania to the west.[15] It constitutes approximately the northwestern third of the larger geographical region of Macedonia, which also comprises the neighbouring parts of northern Greece and smaller portions of southwestern Bulgaria and southeastern Albania. The country's capital is Skopje, with 506,926 inhabitants according to the 2002 census. Other cities include BitolaKumanovoPrilepTetovoOhridVelesŠtipKočaniGostivarKavadarci, and Strumica. It has over fifty lakes, and sixteen mountains higher than 2,000 m (6,562 ft). Macedonia is a member of the UN and of the Council of Europe. Since 2005 it has also been a candidate for joining the European Union and has applied 

  • Macedonia(1)
  • Macedonia(10)
  • Macedonia(11)
  • Macedonia(12)
  • Macedonia(13)
  • Macedonia(14)
  • Macedonia(15)
  • Macedonia(16)
  • Macedonia(17)
  • Macedonia(18)
  • Macedonia(19)
  • Macedonia(2)
  • Macedonia(20)
  • Macedonia(21)
  • Macedonia(22)
  • Macedonia(23)
  • Macedonia(24)
  • Macedonia(25)
  • Macedonia(26)
  • Macedonia(27)
  • Macedonia(28)
  • Macedonia(3)
  • Macedonia(4)
  • Macedonia(5)
  • Macedonia(6)
  • Macedonia(7)
  • Macedonia(8)
  • Macedonia(9)

Simple Image Gallery Extended